2023 Aveogan Leadership Award Winner!

The Arctic Education Foundation (AEF) is proud to announce the first 2023 Aveogan Leadership Award winner, Tenna Qaġġuna Judkins of Utqiagvik, Alaska

Tenna is the daughter of the late Teresa (Brower) Judkins, and granddaughter of the late Harry Brower, Sr. and Annie (Hopson) Brower.

Tenna graduated from Barrow High School in 2007, from Alaska Pacific University with her Bachelor of Arts in Alaska Native Governance, and the University of Alaska Southeast with her Master of Arts in Teaching. She is currently studying for the Master’s in Educational Leadership at the University of Alaska Southeast, where once complete, she will have a Master’s in Education and her Type B Professional License (Principal’s Certification).

Qaġġuna’s passion lies in education, and she plays a vital leadership role in her position as the Director of Iñupiaq Education for the NSBSD. She is committed to uplifting her community, supporting, and enhancing Iñupiaq education, and leading efforts in education that center community and foster success for students.

Tenna stated, “These next steps in my educational journey are something I never imagined myself doing, but because of the support of the community, my family, and the Arctic Education Foundation, I am able to set and work towards these goals in my educational leadership journey.”

We wish Qaġġuna the best of luck in her education! Aarigaa! Kiita!

Subscribe to Our Newsletter